Video Playback

Currently, Omega Core supports a simple video playback feature that utilizes Windows Media player. One major drawback has been the fact that Microsoft removed the command line option to automatically close the player when the video is done. So, while you can successfully playback videos using Omega Core, you have to set a timer and tell the OS to kill media player when the video is done playing. The problem is that there might be some lag as the video player runs and you can’t be sure that you’re killing the video at the correct time.

I am now looking to provide FFmpeg support in place of Windows Media Player. I’m investigating the licensing for this and haven’t yet been able to determine if I can distribute the pre-built ffplay.exe program or if I need to compile the code into the Omega Core dll. I’m hoping to just distribute the executable and make command line calls from Omega Core to invoke video playback since that eliminates all the hoops I need to jump through in order to get the code compiled into my dll. As soon as I know more, I’ll post an update. Using FFmpeg would allow me to support more video formats as well as utilize an auto exit when the video is done playing.

I am a born again Christian and a servant of our Lord Jesus Christ. I'm happily married to my wife, Michelle, and I have 2 beautiful daughters named Sarah and Grace. I am a programmer, filmmaker, and video game maker.

Posted in News
One comment on “Video Playback
  1. magiqueprod says:

    It looks like this shouldn’t be a problem. I’m simply going to provide the function calls necessary to access the FFmpeg pre-built player, but not to incorporate it in any other way. I will provide instructions on where the pre-built exe can be downloaded and it will be the responsibility of anyone using it to comply with the necessary licensing terms. It’s not complicated, but I’d rather not deal with that part myself unless I’m using the FFmpeg in my own demos. The licensing is basically GPL 3.0 and would require providing the source code used to build the FFmpeg player exe or an offer to allow downloading it from a server.

Leave a Reply

