3D Sound Progress

I’ve been working on this for a few hours today and have discovered that the OpenAL sound system doesn’t have any culling for distance whatsoever. I’ve been struggling with trying to figure out the best distance attenuation model to use and couldn’t get it to behave the way I wanted. A straight linear model does cull for max sound distance, but is totally unrealistic sounding and not suited for my purposes at all. The other models attenuate sound nicely, but the sounds can be heard from everywhere no matter how far you are away. 

I want to take a little more time on this part and provide a built-in facility for range culling that doesn’t pop when the sound comes in range. This requires me to do some automatic volume fade in/out for sound sources as they come into range. Therefore, I don’t think I’ll have this release ready today. If I do manage to get this part working soon then I will release it as expected.

I am a born again Christian and a servant of our Lord Jesus Christ. I'm happily married to my wife, Michelle, and I have 2 beautiful daughters named Sarah and Grace. I am a programmer, filmmaker, and video game maker.

Posted in News

Leave a Reply

